So I just finished reading “Carry On, Warrior” by Glennon Melton and it’s a totally life-changing book and I wasn’t prepared to return it to the library yet but apparently someone else is ready to read it and I would never deny them that privilege so before I return it (and before I get my hands on my very own copy…which shall get high-lighted and written all over for certain) I wanted to put down some of my favorite quotes here so I can re-read them and so can you because they’re amazing.  To me, anyway.

“Christianity is not about joining a particular club; it’s about waking up to the fact that we are all in the same club.  Every last one of us.  So avoid discussions about who’s in and who’s out at all costs.  Everybody’s in, baby. That’s what makes it beautiful.  And hard.  If working out your faith is not beautiful and hard, find  a new one to work out.  And if spiritual teachers are encouraging you to fear anyone, watch them closely, honey.  Raise your eyebrow and then your hand.  Because the phrase repeated most often in that Bible they quote is Do Not Be Afraid.” (p. 141)

“Much of the Bible is confusing, but the most important parts aren’t.  Sometimes I wonder if folks keep arguing about the confusing parts so they don’t have to get started doing the simple parts.” (p. 141)

“I have confused feelings about the abortion issue.” I think that “issues” like abortion are really just “people” so it’s best to think of them as such.  One at a time.  One person at a time.” (p.197)

“The only meaningful thing we can offer one another is love.  Not advice, not questions about our choices, not suggestions for the future, just love.” (p. 197)

“Sometimes as I listen to a song, an angry song, about poverty and dead ends and the hopelessness and the violence that are the inevitable results, I think, Jesus would love this song. I don’t think he’d cover his ears and turn up his nose and run away because of the crudeness.  I don’t think the coarseness would offend him…I don’t think he’d tell his people to turn off the radio.  I think he’d tell them to turn it up and listen, even if it made them uncomfortable.  He’d tell them to listen to the stories of people who’ve been oppressed and marginalized and are crying out for someone to hear them and step in.” (p. 202,203)

“It’s easy to spend time in the shallow end of faith.  It’s not a real commitment.  You can just hop in, stand around in tight circles and people watch…I think the reason we don’t hear from the people in the deep end as often is because they’re actually swimming.”  (p.204)

“When people ask me if faith, if church, is comforting to me, I say “sort of.” But mostly it’s challenging.” (p.219)

Just a few that jumped out at me.  It makes this book sounds like it’s all about God and stuff but its’ really not…it’s just her thoughts on faith really resonated with me and where I am right now.

